long time, no see

Sheesh. It’s been a while.

So why has this page been so lonely, you ask? I’ve been shamefully busy, burning that proverbial candle on both ends. And, needless to say, I’m working on that.

Since my last post, I’ve wanted to write about what I’ve been doing, reading, eating, cooking, etc., but I didn’t know how to go about it in an effective way. I want to post so much, but I can’t really justify spending that much time writing something that isn’t directly related to school.

This is my compromise. I’ll try to post something like a round-up of the 411 of my life from time to time.

I hope this inspires you all! I frequently post inspirational recipes and ideas on my pinterest account, so if you’re looking for more, I hope your curiosity will be further satiated there. ūüôā

What I’m reading:¬†“The Mood Cure”, Julia Ross; “Eat Fat, Lose Fat”, Sally Fallon and Dr. Mary Enig; “Classical Rhetoric for the Modern Student”, Edward P. J. Corbett; “The Iliad”, Homer

1.) “The Mood Cure”: I’m reading this by the recommendation of Kimi Harris over on her blog The Nourishing Gourmet, and I’m nearly finished– I’ve learned a lot that goes hand-in-hand with what I’m learning in my anatomy and physiology class (or a&p, as I simply and fondly call it). As the title implies, it deals with why we feel the way we feel– at least, biologically speaking. Ross notes that we do, indeed, have real¬†emotions, ones that appear justly and have a rational origin. However, she discusses the idea that we also can entertain “false moods”, ones which are unfounded and irrational. These false moods can be a result of a malnourished endocrine (hormone) system and brain: the thesis is that our bodies are not getting what they need, and they’re telling us by feeling fatigued, apathetic, constantly stressed and peeved, and all-around miserable. Even though I’m not quite finished, I recommend it.

2.) “Eat Fat, Lose Fat”: As embarrassing as it is, I’m reading this because I’ve recently porked up. Before learning how grains and sweets can be nourishing, I avoided them entirely. After I learned of their nutritional benefits, I dove whole-hog into grain and sweet heaven. And even though these were unrefined, whole foods, too many polysaccharides (sugars/sweets) leads to too much insulin production, and too much insulin production leads to weight gain. That’s where I found myself. Since I now know fats are nourishing and the modern “healthy” foods are not, I didn’t want to pursue a low-fat, low-calorie diet. Enter the Weston A. Price Foundation (my trusty source of all-things nutrition and health). This book, produced by two head persons of the Foundation, has answered many of my questions and is a helpful guide through this controversial subject of weight loss. Again, I’m nearly finished and already recommend it.

3.) “Classical Rhetoric for the Modern Student”: I have a confession: I love learning. (If this makes me a nerd, then so be it.) And since I want to learn more about rhetoric, I picked up this book to begin. I’ve just begun it, but I already love it because the author reminds me of my high school literature professor. (It’s a bittersweet reminder.)

4.) “The Iliad”: This is a classic I never finished. I began and abandoned it in high school, and it has been sitting on my shelf, eagerly staring back at me since. Even though I’m only a few books in, I’m wondering how I could have lost interest in a work like this. So good.

What I’m eating/drinking: ¬†I’ve been less than creative in the breakfast and lunch (heck, dinner too) departments lately, so breakfast has looked like this:

3 local pastured eggs (scrambled or fried in coconut oil or butter)
1 cup of organic green tea (usually with 2 Tbl of coconut oil melted in it)

Since I work at a bakery/caf√©, a typical workday lunch or dinner consists of a classic salad (lettuce, tomatoes, and cucumbers) with feta cheese and toasted pecans. This is the most convenient option for me, so I turn to it often. If I bring my own lunch or dinner, it’s usually a simple soup made with homemade bone broth.

School day lunches are pathetic. Really. Typically, I pack carrots, raw cheese (or whole, plain, unsweetened yogurt or soaked and dehydrated nuts), and a coconut Larabar (or a similar homemade concoction). On a good day, I pack a simple soup made with homemade bone broth. This really isn’t enough, though, and I need some inspiration for adding protein and more varied vegetables. (As you can tell, bone broths are a HUGE staple in my diet. That’s one good thing I have going, and I’d recommend you add some in your diet too.)

For a lunch or dinner when I’m at home, I’ve been trying to add in about half a cup of Bubbie’s sauerkraut for a lacto-fermented vegetable. And I do… sometimes. ūüôā

What I’m cooking: I’m making tons of bone broth! Really. I’m going through two gallons of broth a week between my brother and me. Other than that, I’ve been experimenting with coconut flour (coconut muffins, coconut biscuits…) and soaking and dehydrating nuts for my lunches and my family’s snacks. Making broth and preparing nuts are really hands-off, so it’s been easy to keep those habits up. Experimentation has been infrequent, but successful, so I’m excited to share some recipes with you sometime in the near future. (Most recent triumph: my brother and I made coconut biscuits tonight, and they look like they’ll be a lifesaver. Yay!!!)

What I’m doing:¬†Getting into a routine is the hardest thing I’ve ever tried to do. At least, that’s how it feels as of late. In a nutshell, I’m trying to find some easy, go-to groove for busy days. I’ve been successful in some small ways, so I’m encouraged to keep trying. Also, I’m teaching myself basic Koine Greek. I’ve been wanting to learn it for a very long time, and I finally found a small way to integrate it into my life. It’s been fun!
(N.B.: The photo for this post is one of me having some late night fun with the gluten-, grain-, dairy-, and sugar-free brownie batter for my friend’s recent wedding.)

2 thoughts on “long time, no see

  1. I’ve enjoyed reading the mood cure as well – it’s quite eye opening. I love kimi’s
    blog! I’m really wanting to make some bone broths soon, as i have been researching more… also where do you get your yogurt/keifer/sauerkraut?

    ps that face mask was
    so good!

    • I get both my yogurt and sauerkraut from Nature’s Way in Greensburg– Bubbie’s has the best tasting sauerkraut I’ve had, and it’s also one of the most nourishing on the market; for yogurt, we use the whole plain variety from Seven Stars Farm (the milk is from organic grass fed cows, and the yogurt isn’t homogenized). I make my own kefir with raw milk and kefir grains (if you’d like some, I’ll gladly hook you up!).

      ps– i’m so glad! : )

Leave a Reply

